Blog

The Role Of The Board

...
posted at: Tuesday, March 19, 2019 - 12:05pm

If I Had A Million Dollars

...
posted at: Tuesday, February 19, 2019 - 11:15am

Why Workforce?

...
posted at: Tuesday, January 22, 2019 - 11:34am
...
posted at: Monday, December 17, 2018 - 11:05am

Democratic Process

Two weeks ago the Midterm election happened.  Even though I am very glad it is over – those ads can be very draining - I am also very encouraged by our local participation in the process.  Over 75% of...

posted at: Tuesday, November 13, 2018 - 12:05pm

Steele County Nonprofits

I frequently get asked the question “how many nonprofits are in Steele County”?  It seems like a reasonable question since United Way formally funds 16 locally operating nonprofits and partner each...

posted at: Wednesday, September 12, 2018 - 1:00pm

After the Fair

The Steele County Free Fair, which happened last week, is one of the assets that makes our community great.  We prepare for this event for weeks if not months: the anticipation and buzz builds slowly until...

posted at: Friday, August 24, 2018 - 1:00pm

Local Autonomy; Local Culture for United Ways

Last month the Star Tribune published an article about the retirement of Greater Twin Cities United Way (GTCUW) Executive Director, Sarah Caruso, after 9 years of service.  The...

posted at: Tuesday, June 12, 2018 - 1:05pm

The Annual Grant Making Process

It is widely known that United Way of Steele County provides funds to local human service agencies that further our vision of a sustainable and vibrant community where residents enjoy an...

posted at: Friday, May 18, 2018 - 1:05pm

Volunteering in Steele County

If you’ve paid attention at all to communications coming out of the United Way office in the last few years you know that a motto of our global organization is “Give. Advocate. Volunteer.” ...

posted at: Tuesday, May 8, 2018 - 1:05pm

Pages